My Two Pecans On The 2016 US Election

[Rambles ahead.]

On non-president related issues, congrats to all of the states that have passed legislation in favor of medical and recreationl marijuanna, congrats to those whose chosen Congress and local officals got elected and my condolescences to those whose chosen picks did not (mine didn’t either, if it’s any consolation), and I hope that any local amendments and rules passed are to the benefit of the people in your region [here in the Pelican State, the failure of our State Constituional Amendment 2, regarding a change from public universities going through the legislature to increase tuition to university boards being able to do so, to pass iwill cause quite the discussion].

But I know that it’s the Presidental Election that you’re here for.

There is a lot that can happen between now and January 20th. Some votes are still being counted at the time of my typing this [we’re at 91% at 6:30 AM Central Time on November 9th, according to CNN], and if popular vote and electoral vote ultimately disagree,  much controversary will ensue; there are accusations of voter suppression, and it’s possible that Florida (or another state) may call for a recount. The Electoral College, the entity that actually determines our presidency, doesn’t cast their votes until December 19th this year, and there is no guarentee that this College will vote the way that the maps drawn up last night and this morning suggest that they should.

But as thngs appear at this moment, Donald Trump will be the next President of the United States of America.

That is such a werid sentence for me to type. I would have never thought that Trump would win the majority vote, Electoral or Popular (although, as I am typing this, there are still votes being counted). I’ll admit that I’m a bit of a conspiracy theorist when it comes to some things, and between the media’s seeming favoring of Clinton over Trump, the endorsement of Hillary by many, many celebrities and entertainment figures, and Hillary’s being a political insider, I had assumed that The Establishment (TM) had made their pick. Maybe The Establishment (TM) will pull something at the last minute.

I don’t know if I am hoping that this happens or not.

I didn’t vote for HIllary Clinton. I didn’t vote for Donald Trump, either. I voted for Jill Stein, not because I seriously thought that Stein would win the presidency but because I had hoped that she’d win enough of the vote–5%–to ensure that the Green Party would receive federal funding and benefits for their 2020 election. I don’t know how I feel about Unfaovrable Candidate B winning over Unfavorable Candidate A, and, given the large percentage of Americans who express discontent with the two-party system, I am very surprised that either candidate did nearly as well as they did and that no third-party candidate did better. I seriosuly mis-read the American people in this election.

I do geninuely like the Green Party, and Isidewith.com told me that many of our ideologies match up.

I do know that Jill Stein has been accused of pandering to the anti-vax crowd and has been known to use regretable language describing autism as an “epidemic.” But I’m of the impression that Stein can be reasoned with.

Stein does also have some strong intentions of securing services for individuals with disabilities, so we have that going for us on the autism front. I had attempted to ask her in a reddit AMA that she (or her campaign team?) hosted what her plans are for including Autistic adults and self-advocates in these plans. I didn’t get a response, but then neither did many posters.

[If you’re reading this, Jill Stein, I still would like to hear that answer.]

Am I, as a third-party voter, to blame for Trump’s wining the presidency? Perhaps partially; my voting for Stein meant that I did not vote for Clinton.

But I could not, in good conscious, bring myself to vote for Clinton.

Hillary Clinton does have some stances that I support. She seems to have become very pro LGBT+ in recent years. She’s a strong supporter of woman’s reproductive health and rights. She also has a strong plan to provide services for autistics across the lifespan.

But the Clintons have been shown to have their fair share of corruption. Forget the emails and whatever they may or may not contain. She’s supported nations that imprision and execute LGBT individuals. She’s been implicated in dishonesty with her Clinton Foundation There’s that thing where she allegedly helped to cover up a rape.

Not that I think that Trump is particulalry less corrupt. First and foremost, his businesses and his continued refusal to pay people what they are promised. Trump showed favor of another man, Michael Savage, who suggested that autism is ‘bratty behavior” caused by parents not parenting enough. There’s the controversy over him mocking a reporter with a disability (it’s been argued that he wasn’t actually mocking the disability and that his mannerisms are how he, in general, immitates a flustered individual. But in any the parallels between the mannerisms and those used to mock individuals with disabilities does warrant some attention).  He’s selected a VP that is so anti-LGBT as to support a “therapy” for gay youths that that been shown to inflict serious psychological harm upon its victims. He refused to explicitly agree to accept the outcome of the election. He incites racism and seems to lie more heavily on the “Muslims are terrorists” connection than I would like (some Muslims are terrorists, and they, like non-Muslim terrorists, should be caught and prevented from inflicting their terror. But there are peaceful Muslims. I go to college with many of them).

But then I do support his plans to overturn Common Core .

I geninuely did not want either of these people to be the President of my country.

But, one of them will be, and it seems very likely that this person will be Donald Trump.

So what lies ahead?

Advocates continue to advocate.

LGBT+ advocates will undoubtfully call for the Supreme Court to uphold their June 2015 decision regarding gay marriage if it is challenged. We will continue to protest legislation that creates barriers to the performing or recognition of this marriage and that threatenes discrimination in the workplace, in school, in medicine, and wherever else. We will continue to promote legislation that protects us and our* community from violence. We will continue to call on our government to recognize the rights of trans+ and non-heterosexual individuals. We will continue to ensure that love winfs and that gender identities are respected.

Feminists will continue to advocate for the right for women to exercise reproductive freedom and for gender pay parity; we will continue to fight for sexual assault to be prevented and to be tried fairly and swiftly when it does happen (for men, women, and everyone else).

People of color will continue to push back against police unfairness, agains discrimination in schools and the school-to-prision pipeline, against cultural and institutional racism, against violence towards POC. And I will continue to seek ways to be an ally.

Disability advocates will continue to fight for the ADA to be enforced where it needs to be enforced (and to be changed where it needs to be changed). We will continue to push for protections in the workplace and in education, and we will continue to push for services for those that need them. We will continue to fight for disabled people to be seen as people deserving of respect, dignity, and the presumption of competence and that all of us are given in a say in the direciion of our own lives.

People of minority religions will continue to fight to ensure that they have the right to practice their religion and that they will not face discrimination because of this.

Of course, you have advocates working against all of that, too, and even those working for those things may work for and with different specifics.

People will continue to voice their opinions. People will continue to have opinions and to feel strongly about them.

People will not give up.

 

I don’t know what Trump will or will not enforce, what agreements, domestic and foreign, he will or will not engage in, what he will or will not do for healthcare, for our economy, for our education, for our civil rights. Trump’s made his claims, and people have made their projections. But we’ll have to wait and see.

A lot could change before January 20th. A lot could change in the four years following it, too.

And no matter who’s in office and what they support, no matter what the majority of the American people have voted, I will continue to advocate in hopes that this change is for the better.

 

 

*Oh, yeah, I don’t know if I ever officially “came out” as pansexual on this blog, but, hi, I’m pansexual. I’m currently dating someone of the opposite sex and, thus, have the priviliges afforded to the “straight-passing,” which I recognize and which I keep in mind when fighting for my LGBT+ breathen without that same passing privilege.

Leave a Reply

